jump to navigation

RJW’s Favorite TV Show Apartments March 24, 2011

Posted by Robert J. Wilson in Décor, Movies+TV.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Have you ever imagined what it might be like to actually live in the apartments shown in your favorite T.V. shows?  Obviously I have, because that’s the sort of thing I ponder when my brain is otherwise unoccupied…

Take a look at my top picks for most awesome fictional apartment that I would want to live in:

#3: Monica & Rachel’s Apartment on Friends

The Set of NBC's "Friends"

This place seemed to have 10 bedrooms…

Kitschy and comfortable, this impossibly large NYC Village apartment appeals to my shabby-chic feminine side as well as my overwhelming desire to live in the Big Apple.  I could so live with the lavender walls and parquet floors, provided that Monica stayed around for clean-up duty.  I’m not sure I could have handled having the dishes all out in the open on shelves like that, though…  Yikes.  Plus there’s the added benefit of Central Perk just downstairs!

#2: Will & Grace’s Place

Will & Grace: Will's Apartment

The simple but elegant dining area from NBC's Will & Grace.

Will Truman’s modern apartment captures the essence of gay bachelor living, and I LOVE it.  The warm color palette, sophisticated layout and architectural detail make this one of the nicest apartments on television.  I adored the relaxed feel and sleek atmosphere of Will & sometimes Grace’s home.  Sans Jack, it’s a tranquil cocoon amidst the hubbub of NYC.

#1: The Big Bang Theory: Leonard & Sheldon’s Nerd HQ

THE BIG BANG THEORY Set

Sheldon tries to make new friends on CBS' hit comedy The Big Bang Theory. Just don't steal his spot on the sofa…

Easily my #1 favorite is The Big Bang Theory set.  Everything about their geek chic DC Comics-inspired décor SCREAMS RJW.  The living area, the kitchen with Batman cookie jar, the little office alcove…  I love it all!  With all of that awesome superhero and particle physics stuff around, I could easily overlook the lamentable fact that the elevator never seems to work. And don’t even get me started on the fact that they seem to have at least two high-quality dry erase boards handy…  I LOVE those!!

HONORABLE MENTION

Clark’s place in Metropolis from Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman. Not the dingy motel from the pilot, but the cool pad with exposed brick painted red and yellow and made to feel like a home away from home for this Kansas farmboy who had quite the knack for decorating…  I couldn’t find any photos of the set online, or else I could elaborate further.

Share your faves in the comments section!

Comments»

1. Moving In and Making a Home « Happy City Living - March 31, 2011

[…] (1)  RJW’s Favorite TV Show Apartments, (3) Crate and Barrel, ALL OTHERS Rebecca for Happy City […]


Leave a comment